Guidebook update

Yes, the rumors are true. Lonely Planet is finally updating their Hiking in Japan guidebook.


This time around, Craig McLachlan has teamed up with Richard Ryall and David Joll for a comprehensive overhaul of the 1st edition. Unfortunately, there are no new hikes in the updated 2nd edition, but I still think it’s worth adding to your collection. Also, if you’re thinking about buying the 1st edition, you might want to wait a month and buy the new one. The release date will be July 2009 (pushed back from an original release date in May). Although Lonely Planet has not officially announced the update, the information gathered here comes from two reliable sources: 1) (do a search for Hiking in Japan 2nd edition) 2) Personal communication with the lead author. (By the way, I don’t work for Lonely Planet and I’m not receiving any royalties from the sales of this guidebook).

Explore posts in the same categories: General (等)

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Guidebook update”

  1. Ben Says:

    I have a copy of the first edition myself. Although I don’t know if I’ll bother to buy the second edition, I will take a look through it at the bookstore. I’m happy that someone published something about hiking in Japan, but I wasn’t overly impressed with it. I hope they show me wrong in this next edition.

    I think bloggers have by far taken the lead in coverage of places to go hiking and camping in Japan usually with as much detail and often more than what was in the LP book.

  2. Meredith Says:

    Oh man, as grateful as I am for the update, it comes two weeks too late — am heading for Japan to hike with friends on April 16th. I don’t suppose a few stray copies might find their way to bookshelves, er, two weeks early? No, I suppose not. ;)

    (Thanks for the excellent site, by the way — long time reader, first time commenter.)

  3. wesu Says:

    I know what you mean about blogging. It’s completely changing the publishing world. Plus, you can easily self publish things now through print on demand publishers. As far as the new update is concerned, I’m hoping to snag a free copy through my connections.

    Thanks for the comment. Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like there’ll be any advanced copies on bookshelves in April, but if you let me know which hikes you’re planning, I can give you updated information.

Leave a Reply

